Mudeford Quay is situated at the entrance to Christchurch Harbour and provides spectacular views out to sea and back to Christchurch town.
There are two distinct areas to Mudeford Quay each with their own unique character and uses.
The Quay Head is the hub of visitor activity. A cluster of historic buildings provides a focal point and a local landmark. These are thought to date from c.1695 (Haven Cottages) and c.1830 (The Haven House Inn). The Haven House Inn also houses a café and gift shop. Traditional commercial fishing activity occurs on the Quay Head, as evidenced by the lobster pots and fishing boats. There is also a fish stall. The area surrounding the buildings is purposefully maintained as a pedestrian zone. Public toilets are located on the Quay Head.
The large grassed area is ideal for picnicking and informal recreation. The area overlooks the harbour and the car park is shielded from view by a line of maritime pines. A children's play area is situated at the base of the Quay adjacent to both the grassed area and Gundimore promenade.
The Quay is a popular sailing and windsurfing centre throughout the year and the venue for a number of dinghy championships. There is a public slipway on site and an extensive dinghy park facility. A ferry runs from the Quay Head to Mudeford Sandbank. Mackerel fishing trips and speed boat cruises operate from the Quay and crabbing continues to be a popular activity along the seafront promenade.
The beaches at Avon and Friars Cliff are easily accessed from the Quay via Gundimore Promenade which extends eastwards from the Quay.
Map & Directions
From A35, follow signs to Mudeford
Public Transport Directions
Bus: Wilts& Dorset X1 and X2
Rail: 10mins taxi journey
Air: 20mins by car from Bournemouth Airport
Parking & Transport
- Parking (charge)
- On-Site café/restaurant
- Picnic Site
- Open all year
- Tea / Coffee Shop
|2017 Opening (1 Jan 2017 - 31 Dec 2017)|